Love that keeps on growing…

For Valentines day I wanted to make my partner something that symbolised how much we have grown together and still continue to do so. I decided on a tree with flowers blossoming from it. I was going to attach beads and sequins, but for some reason when I attached them I really disliked them and felt they look a little too feminine for him (although I opted for a swirly flowered tree?!) I didnt think I would get it completed in time, but luckily managed to just scrape it! I have tried to frame it myself, but Its more of a botch so will have to write a disclaimer on the gift tag that he needs to work some magic with that. Im very fortunate that anything I need framing he does for me and seems to enjoy it which is always a bonus. Im really looking forward to tomorrow now, hope he likes it as much as I do!

20140212_152340[2]

18 thoughts on “Love that keeps on growing…

  1. I really love it! I have been stitching for 23 years (WOW! That makes me sound old & I’m really not…I’m only 43! lol) but anyway…I digress…I was saying that I have been stitching for a long time & JUST started making gifts for people out of my cross stitches! They are just so…well, it takes a lot of time & if people don’t have a clue, there is no way they can appreciate it! I made one for my cousin who got married this summer, one for my dad & step-mom for Christmas and a soccer piece for my niece for Christmas…currently making a baby sampler for my cousin who is due in April!

    • aw you sound just like me! I love making people presents, last christmas was a huge haul, started making months before! Ive got my sister’s birthdays coming up so busily stitching for them at the moment. Ive only been doing it for about 3 years, I taught myself after years wanting to try and havent stopped since. Like you said, some people dont understand just how long they take, I find because I sit for hours every night doing them, that a lot think I can pump them out quickly, when in reality it takes me ages! πŸ™‚

  2. ooh I’ve seen this pattern, and its on my (very long) to do list… Its gorgeous! And I’m super jealous you have someone to do your framing for you! Its lovely πŸ™‚

    • Hehe I know, Im very lucky that he does it for me and doesnt moan one bit! My to do list is very long as well, I had that one since christmas and only did it in a short space of time out of necessity otherwise would have sat there like my others for months/years… hehe πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

