Up, up and away…

Ive been working on my older sister’s birthday present for a while now and have now finally finished it. She loves all things brightly coloured (it runs in the family) and hot air balloons. She is also moving to Australia at the end of the year so the most apt thing to create for her was this.

20140217_080113[2]

While I loved making this because I love making people presents, it wasn’t without its glitches and as I have said in my about me, this blog is about highs and lows so I couldn’t leave the bad bits out… The main problem was the backstitching, it is still very loose so I will have to try and sort that out when its framed. I also had a battle with my own mind as to where to stop the clouds. I didnt want it to look out of proportion so there was a lot of tweeking and unpicking! Overall though, Im really chuffed with it and I hope she will be too šŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Up, up and away…

  1. Lovely looking finish – I’m sure your sister will really appreciate it. And I hear what you’re saying about backstitch! I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with it too. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

