fluffy tailed swap shop

do_small_things2[1] do_small_things[1]

The craft forum that I am a member of did a secret Easter bunny swap and as the day of chocolate smeared faces and cute little bunnies was yesterday, I can reveal the project I sent as my gift. I found the pattern for this in a book I received for Christmas called ‘Friendship and loving thoughts’ and decided to complete as my bunny gift. The main motivation behind doing this particular design was that for me, Easter and springtime is a celebration of life and growth so a fairy watering her flowers seemed apt, as well as the quote ‘Do small things with great love’. The original design had a blank sky but I decided to stitch it blue and added tiny beads for water droplets from the watering can and to the border. I mounted it onto pink felt, attaching pink heart printed ribbon as a hanger inbetween the two felt sheets. I still thought it a little plain, so just added some polkadot buttons to each corner. I must admit that due to the solid colour of this design, it did take me a fair few evenings but I am very pleased with the results and believing the motto stitched to be one most people should hold dear to their hearts, I have decided to eventually make one for our home too. In return, I received a beautiful gift from an incredibly talented lady, Indri (her forum name)

lighthouse

I don’t know if you can see from the photo, but the platform the lighthouse is on has been quilled. I simply adore quilling and have never tried it myself. Receiving this has certainly made me even more enthusiastic to give it a go. Altogether, it was a really brilliant, inspiring project to be a part of and I can’t wait for the Secret Santa. Hopefully there will be a few Christmas swaps on here too… just realised I mentioned the dreaded C word. Humblest apologies… 😉

 

15 thoughts on “fluffy tailed swap shop

  1. I love the beadwork in the hanging you made! It really pulls the whole piece together! You do such lovely work! And the quilling in the lighthouse one is so cool! It looks like that rose fabric they make where the flowers are ribbon sewn onto the fabric itself. (Not sure what it’s called, and my description doesn’t do it justice. I hope you know what I’m talking about!)

    • Hehe I do know what you mean and I also have no idea what its called! Thank you for being so kind, I love adding beads to stitching. I mean I love the way beading looks, I actually am not keen on attaching them 🙂

  2. Both gifts are beautiful! I love your cross stitch. My first thought was an angel watering flowers before I read your description. But then I have a collection of angels so no big surprise there. The lighthouse brought to mind a Bible verse I have in my kitchen, “Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father which is in heaven. Matthew 5:16”

Leave a Reply

