letterland :-)

20140429_224656[1]

20140429_225731[1]

I reblogged a post by prettylittlethingsinabox earlier on in the week about the very cool global project for stitchers from the textile museum in Wesserling Park, France. To honour the history of DMC, they are asking for any needlework enthusiasts to sew an initial (of their choice) on a piece of 15cm x 15cm white stitching cloth. This can be on aida, linen, even weave, etc…, but it must be using the DMC 321 thread. You don’t send it mounted, just the simple cloth all stitched and pretty. It will eventually be displayed in the museum with a post listing all of the contributors. I couldn’t say no to being part of a huge thank you to the amazing DMC for providing us with gorgeous threads and products for the past 250 years. Plus, it would be nice to be part of a museum display rather than visiting them for a change… If you want to give it a go, the address to send to is on an earlier reblogged post, but time is ticking so you will need to get your speedboots on! I popped to the haberdashery yesterday to get the correct thread, only to find when I got home that I should have checked my stash because I already had some. grrr! Anyway, I sketched out a plan last night and wanted to do a stamp like design, so the aida remains plain but stitch around the initial to create its shape. I then realised after rereading the rules many times that the actual letter must be stitched so I didn’t think Id get away with my silhouette idea. So I stitched my first name initial ‘E’, choosing a font that I used to use often during my tattooing days, but revamped it to look slightly prettier. So yeah, got to post it now, shame carrier pigeons don’t fly around this way šŸ˜‰

7 thoughts on “letterland :-)

  1. Lovely! I think it’s a great idea and it’s cool to think that your work is going to be displayed in public. I’d be interested to know what they’re going to do with them display-wise – e.g. are they going to spell out words with them? Bet the finished exhibition will look amazing!

Leave a Reply

