Optimus prime (minister)

kings_30[1]

As well as being the first Hanoverian king, this monarch’s reign was full of political advancement. It was during this time that the Septennial act started, which allowed for general elections to take place. As you can expect, this led to Sir Robert Walpole, who was the first Lord of the treasury, to effectively become Britain’s first prime minister. In 1726, this king also authorised Britain’s first circulating library in Scotland, which is just as well as Daniel Defoe’s Robinson Crusoe had become a hit, and in the same year, Jonathon Swift’s Gulliver’s travels was also published. So really, thanks to him, England became a nation of bookworms. I think that’s pretty awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “Optimus prime (minister)

  1. thanks for the history lesson.. and I’m impressed with the dates added in your posts..
    thanks to you.. i’m learning new piece of information.. (which I will then show off to my hubby), cos he is a history buff.. (and I like to show off some period of history which he didn’t know) lol.. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • hehe glad to be of assistance. I do exactly the same with my mister (who is a history buff too). I always forget the dates so have to look them up, the only ones I remember are really famous events ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

