I only work in black and sometimes, very, very, dark grey…

 

batwhole[2]

batvillains[1]batgoodies2[1]

As you all may know it was of course Father’s day yesterday which meant I can now stop being secretive and share my Dad’s present without worrying if he will see it on here. This year was the first in a very long time that we have actually celebrated the day together so I wanted to make something I know he would really like and to be honest, my brain was way too swamped with ideas. As usual my mister got hauled in to sift through plans and we settled on creating a Batman goodies vs villains themed project. Finding the pattern I wanted to use was easy, I knew to go to weelittlestitches, after falling in love with her ‘all things nerdy’ designs previously and knowing Dad to be a big geek, he would also be an admirer of her patterns. The less easy part for me was picking the thread colours, as he knows the characters inside out and im a bit of a perfectionist, I trawled through so many graphic novel images to colour match all of the threads. Despite hating working with black aida, I decided it would be the best background for the villains and the same with the yellow for the goodies. There was no backstitching on the pattern but because of my aida choices, they looked odd without one so I added yellow lining to the evils and black to the goods. After a solid time of cursing stitching on black and loving using yellow fabric (that being my favourite colour), all of the characters were complete. As always, my incredibly talented OH was there to help, suggesting we framed them with the bat logo and to be honest, I was very dubious about it. Im glad I trusted him in the end, as after us finding black and yellow mount board and him templating the bat logo, he cut it out and I hope you will agree, his idea really makes the composition pop. As I have said in previous posts, I am very lucky that he can frame things so well and would not even be making a Father’s Day gift if it wasn’t for his constant support. So not only a Dad’s day post for my Pa, who I am so happy to have back in my life, but also a huge thank you to my son and stepchildren’s Daddy, for simply being the beautiful man and fantastic father he is πŸ™‚

 

31 thoughts on “I only work in black and sometimes, very, very, dark grey…

  1. wow! I’ve never used black aida before… or any colour to be honest, just boring white and cream! Maybe picking a more-fun colour would get me back into cross stitching πŸ™‚

  2. That is so awesome! How unique and AWESOME! You two make a great team I’d say. Maybe more team projects are in order?

  3. What a fantastic gift! I’m sure your Dad loved it .. Finished piece looks fantastic, and I’m glad you trusted the other half in his idea, as I agree, it definitely completes it and makes it an even more unique gift. πŸ™‚

  4. Wow this looks amazing! It must have taken you so long! The yellow backstitch was a great idea because it really makes it pop out.
    I used black aida to stitch space invaders for my dad last year and I hated every second of it! I’m sticking to white from now on πŸ˜‰

    • I totally sympathise with you! I think Id of been pulling my hair out by the end of that too! I enjoyed the yellow aida but really not the black, although now Ive been given some tips on using it I may change my mind πŸ™‚

  5. love weelittletstitchesw designs.. and this is such a great gift for the men in the household.. πŸ˜€ and I’m laughing to the tagline.. cos i love the LEGO movie.. heehee πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

