G.O.T: By george!

kings_44[1]

Yep, all of the George’s are now complete, woo! Something I forgot to mention earlier on when I started the backstitching, was that I took up a new skill. I must admit that in other projects where I should have used french knots I have cheated and just done half stitches. Because of how long this design has taken, I chose not to cut corners and just give it a go. It was actually an awful lot easier to do than the directions seemed to show and now after a fair few eyes (including those of the Queen’s corgi’s) I love creating them! So in the space of a couple of evenings I go from non non non to ooh la la! As they say, Joie de vivre! 🙂

16 thoughts on “G.O.T: By george!

  1. That’s looking really good! I used to hate doing french knots, but once I learned how to do them right, I started to love doing them. It’s a good thing, too. The cottage called for a ton of them! It’s finished, but I have to get a good picture to post to my page.

  2. I went 30 years faking French knots. Then I hit a project that had over 100 of them, and I decided it was time to grit my teeth and learn. I found a video that did for me what no written directions ever had; a few tries, and I’d done my first one.

    Then came the beading….

      • I don’t do too badly with them usually, but I never had one that described a French knot in a useful way. My mom taught me to stitch, and she couldn’t do them, either. She’s the one who taught me to stack two quarter stitches. 🙂

      • I think she probably missed her calling, actually. She also taught me to read, and to love reading, which I have all my life, by letting me come to her to find out what this thing she liked so much was all about. I’d jump up beside her, she’d read whatever she was reading out loud to me, and when I’d had enough, I’d leave again. It wasn’t too long before I wanted to learn how; I was an early reader thanks to that.

      • That is is a really lovely and amazing story. I too learnt to read pretty early and have always loved reading thanks to my parents influence. Its really inspiring to hear such a beautiful story 🙂

  3. Looks fantastic! I really hate french knots. Mine never seem to be tight enough, big enough, loose enough, small enough. I think it’s a great accomplishment to master them. Great job!

Leave a Reply

