The egg came first (summer journal/photo a day)

 

2013-07-02 17.23.04The photo a day prompt is ‘first’ so I am sharing with you my very first attempt at making scones. Whilst doing this I realised the art of the scone really isn’t my forte, being as they seem more like rock cakes and I decided to add the filling way before the cake part had had time to cool so they look as though they are vomitting cream. I have been reassured that they are tastier than they look but I think I will stick to bakery bought ones next time! One of the ingredients was egg, which leads me on to the next part…

images2

…today’s summer journal, with the guideline: “What can you do with an egg?”

I presume this prompt is angling for something good you can do with one rather than my super solid scones? hehe. Well I like to draw silly faces onto eggs just to amuse myself (it isn’t a hobby, just sometimes happens when there is an egg box and a sharpie around), similar to the photographer of the above picture. A more usual thing to with an egg is something I have done myself, which is use it as a hair conditioner. I know it may sound a bit grim but it is a totally natural and cheaper way to strengthen your locks and does leave them silky and smooth. If you don’t like the idea of just whacking it on your head on its own, I will share with you a hair mask method that is really easy to prepare and follow:

1. Mix together egg yolk, olive oil and honey. Usually 3 tablespoons of honey and oil is enough and the amount of yolk needed depends on your hair length. (My hair comes to the midway point of my back and I use 4)

2. Take your time to massage the mixture gently over you hair and scalp.

3. After you have finished, wrap your hair in an old towel for about 20-30 minutes. If your hair is particularly dry, like mine can be, then you may need to leave it for about 40.

4. Rinse it all off with warm water (not hot otherwise it will get quite stinky).

When I did this the first time, I didn’t shampoo it off and it felt really oily still so Id recommend using shampoo but not conditioner, as that’s what the whole eggy experience has been for. So yeah, maybe not to everyone’s taste, but doing it once in a while when your hair needs a little TLC can be worthwhile and a lot cheaper than a lot of the salon-inspired products. Just another little tip to end on, better not use any out of date eggs, you may end up attracting some unwanted flies! hehe 🙂

8 thoughts on “The egg came first (summer journal/photo a day)

    • I guess its just practice then, maybe I will convince myself to do another batch once these ones have been scoffed hehe. Thanks for sharing the link, very kind of you and is a great method! Treacle scones sound mightily intriduing too, bet my family will love them (as long as I get them right) 🙂

  1. Scones look great! I use lemonade in mine and without fail, they’re always light and fluffy. Happy to share the recipe if you’d like! And funny faces on eggs? .. Awesome!

    • Lemonade? wow never heard of that before but it sounds like a very yummy ingredient! Especially if they become fluffy (a despicable me quote ran through my head then). I really can’t resist doodling on things, eggs always end up with beards of tongues sticking out 🙂

      • Hahaha .. Ahhhh the minions! Yep, and it’s SUPER easy too .. I’m going to give you the recipe anyway, because I love to spread some fluffy scone love.

        5 cups self raising flour
        375ml lemonade (1 standard can .. in Aus sizing)
        300ml whipping cream

        Add lemonade and whipping cream in parts and mix together with flour, gently, and with a dry metal spoon. My mum tells me that the dry metal spoon part is really important, as is using your hands as little as possible apparently.

        Tip your mixture onto a floured bench top, and cut with cookie cutter of similar. Bake in preheated oven at 180 degrees with 10-15 minutes .. Until cooked / slightly coloured.

        Watch as friends and family hoover your lovely scones down! 🙂

Leave a Reply

