G.O.T & Don’t ever never dance in the rain! (journal/photo a day)

knitting_jester[1]

The photo a day challenge brings an ‘Ive never’ prompt. Well, ‘Ive never’ done a lot of things, Ive never skydived, Ive never bungee jumped, Ive never cuddled a tarantula (*shudder*)… but I thought Id go for something a little more on the crafting wavelength where I normally feel right at home. Unlike my little jester friend above, I have never knitted. I love knitted things, got a fair few creatures of this variety, but have never taken the plunge myself. Pretty much all the females in my family, my OH and even my cat (if you count chasing wool around), can knit but not me. I got a beginners kit for Christmas that I haven’t got round to starting yet, but I’m not sure if its one of those things that its best to learn when you are a child rather than flogging a dead horse, which is what its like for anybody trying to teach me most of the time. Im planning on giving it a whirl soon though so hopefully my doubts will be all in vain and my ‘Ive never’ photo entry will become more apt for an ‘I can’ prompt 🙂

images

Today’s summer journal prompt: “The snowman walked in the air! Nancy Sinatra wore boots that were made for walking. Your mission today, if you choose to accept it, is to write about the last time you walked in the rain”

To answer the very gloomy cloud, its because its rejuvenating, carefree and fun! We don’t have a car, so every time it rains and I need to be somewhere I’m walking in it and as we live in sunny (ahem) England, so this is quite a frequent occurrence! I actually don’t mind rain at all, I usually have a brolly in my bag but even if I don’t it doesn’t bother me as my hair looks a mess all the time anyway! It is so refreshing being in the rain when it is actually cool (temperature wise, not ‘oh yeah totally awesome man’…), I’m not a fan of it straight after it’s been hot so it feels muggy and you are inclined to wear a coat but too sticky and sweaty for one. I actually refuse to change my usual clothing choices of dresses and skirts if the heavens open, having been known to wear my giraffe print wellies with a 1950’s polka-dot dress. In fact, doing this pleases me even more by embracing it for the natural life giving phenomenon that it is and one we should all feel happy that we are so privileged to have a constant source of. The best rainy experience though by far is when you are all snuggled up in bed, warm and cosy, with it absolutely slashing it down outside. Now that is satisfaction! So next time you feel a good pee coming on Mr cloud, be a love and hold it in until Sunday morning 🙂

kings_49[1]

Aaaaaand as promised, the G.O.T update with father and son and soon to be headless Jane. Aw, what a lovely family portrait? hehe. Ive just noticed Ive missed back stitching one of Henry’s feet so I better rectify that before he falls over/has my head lopped off! 🙂

 

14 thoughts on “G.O.T & Don’t ever never dance in the rain! (journal/photo a day)

  1. With all the crafts I’ve tried and enjoy doing, I’ve also never learned to knit. I’ve always wanted to, but worried it would be too difficult. Let me know how it goes, I may give it a go. (o:

  2. Knitting is much easier than you think! Once you’ve mastered the basic stitches it’s really just the same stitch over and over again. Start with a scarf or a toy snake 🙂

    • Im glad to hear that, most other people I know who can knit got taught when they were very small so always thought it would be better to learn then but glad that that isn’t the case! 🙂

  3. I can knit, but while I can stitch “in hand” and have no tension issues, my knitting is disgusting. The sides of my scarf go in and out! I’ve never tried anything else I could wear – the results would be too horrific!

  4. I haven’t learnt to knit or crochet yet either .. Let me know how you go! I love knitted and crocheted things also so would love to see your first try – best of luck!

Leave a Reply

