If all else fails… admire (summer journal/photo a day)

2013-08-11 13.15.30

Before I start with the prompts, I have actually now finished G.O.T!! Yay! I will hopefully be unveiling it tomorrow after I finish repairing Henry VIII’s foot. Now, today’s photo a day challenge is ‘admire’. I was going to put up things I see regularly and think look nice but I thought Id take a photo of one of the people I admire most in the world, that being Boo, my big (but little) sister. She has achieved so much in her 28 years and overcome some horrible things with a smile on her face. She works as a neonatal nurse at the I.T.U department in a London hospital and to say the job is tough is a severe understatement. On a daily basis she sees the most heartbreaking of situations imaginable and has devoted her life to saving others. Even though this is clearly an utterly traumatic thing to be submerged in every day, she still does it, working massively tiring and long shifts and still emerges from them with an incredible zest for life, always being silly and giggling (as this photo shows) and always up for the next fun adventure. She truly is a beautiful person, both inside and out and a perfect candidate for an ‘admire’ post.
images

So, today’s summer journal prompt is: “Complete the sentence: ‘If all else fails…’

…Have a break. As much as it may sound like something you would say to a small child, I believe everyone needs a time out every now and again. If I get to a stage where I think all else has failed, it usually hasn’t but I just need a breather to rethink on how to tackle whatever the situation is. It’s easy to get all flustered when you have been trying at something for a while that anyone’s mind can become cloudy. If after you have had a break and everything is still failing, then start all over again with a (hopefully) clearer mind. For me, usually in a few days time once I have got over the disappointment and frustration hehe 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “If all else fails… admire (summer journal/photo a day)

  1. Oh yes, having a break is definitely very important! (And something I have difficulty with in my maths!) And well done for finishing GOT! Definitely looking forward to seeing it in all its glory!

Leave a Reply

