All present and correct (summer journal/photo a day)

20140719_140442[1]

Today I decided to try and be a bit organised by wrapping the first of my OH’s birthday presents which coincided very nicely with the photo a day hint, ‘curly’. I really love wrapping gifts anyway so his upcoming anniversary of birth is a great excuse for me to get my huge assortment of paper out and curl some ribbon! hehe.

images

Today’s summer journal prompt is: “School uniform! Still a tetchy subject! What did you think of yours?”

I wasn’t bothered about wearing a uniform at school at any time other than in summer when it was stifling hot in stuffy classrooms and we had to sit there getting progressively more sweaty and smelly in a shirt and tie. Any other time, it didn’t bother me at all as Id just come home and change straight away. I never really understood why some at my school had such an issue with it as it was fairly relaxed considering some other places forced students to wear their jumpers/blazers even when it was piping hot, so as far as that was concerned we got off lightly. In fact sometimes, the uniform got transformed into a fashion statement with the tie going from being preferably skinny and small (a three shown stripes size was apparently cool) to being trendy to have it with a super chunky knot by the end of my secondary school years. Most of the girls ended up wearing very fitted shirts and skinny trousers by that time also which was almost like something to be worn outside of school. Not having a big budget, I had the normal uniform that didn’t cost the earth and also wasn’t in order to make me look like I was hanging out with mates rather than going to lessons. It didn’t bother me one bit and I always got to have a super funky pencil case and stationary which I adored. I don’t know why but I loved going shopping to pick my pens and sharpener in the summer holidays! hehe πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “All present and correct (summer journal/photo a day)

  1. Our school uniform was incredibly forward thinking for the 80s – no ties (for anyone) and your shirt/blouse could be any style as long as it a) had a collar and b) was in your house colour. My house colour was burgundy (meaning you could wear shades of pink, purple or burgundy) which was incredibly on trend in the 80s and I had at least one fabulous burgundy blouse… Happy days. :o)

  2. Being both American and ancient, I never wore a school uniform. They’re much more common there now, but when I was in school, only private (religious) schools used them. The uniforms we had to wear for gym class, however, were horrible. For years, girls had to wear what amounted to onesies. They were uncomfortable, came in three sizes, flattered absolutely no one, and crawled up every time you took a step if you were tall. I was 5’10” by 8th grade.

    (This, except ours had snaps instead of buttons: http://forums.vintagefashionguild.org/attachments/dsc07305-copy-jpg.14717/ )

    They were also one of my early experiences with boneheaded sexism; boys didn’t have to wear them, of course, and the girls’ uniforms weren’t changed to shorts and tee until I was in high school in the 80s.

    • They do look so uncomfortable! Must have been horrid in the heat. I really hope the boys uniforms were equally as difficult to wear to balance it out a bit, can’t really understand how those onesie’s would be deemed as a good uniform. 5″10? wow, I would look like a hobbit next to you! I bet you are glad of your height now though πŸ™‚

      • They were miserable in the heat, and I did most of my elementary and high school years in Louisiana, so I know what Hell’s going to be like (Dante forgot about the humidity.) and what the official uniform will be.

        I hated being so tall, especially among the Cajuns, who tend not to be; until well into high school, I was considerably taller than all but two guys in my class. That doesn’t get you invited to many dances. πŸ™‚ I am glad of it now, yes; striking up a…something with a guy who’s 6’6″ has made me a lot happier to be the height I am.

      • Thats the height of my OH and I am only a meager 5″2 lol. I sometimes think he would be better suited stature wise with a taller lady like yourself! Im glad you have found being with a taller guy giving you a bit more confidence with your height, you should have your head held high, its stunning seeing a tall female πŸ™‚

  3. I loved the tie in my school uniform- so much so that I refused to change over to the new non-tie uniform (well, it had a 2 year introduction period, and after that I wasn’t going to be in uniform anyway)! And stationary shopping is always good fun πŸ™‚

    • Hehe I bet the staff were confused over a student wanting to wear their tie so bad they refused to give it up! I like tie’s too though, especially funky ones, although haven’t worn one since school (unless you count a hen party) πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

