G.O.T: A yellow moment (summer journal/photo a day)

got2[1]got[1]

Alongside the photo a day hint of ‘moment’ is the magical moment of unveiling a finished piece that has taken sooooo long! It really is an amazing feeling to have it all stitched and finished ready for framing after it has had a long date with the iron. It is a lot bigger that it looks on the picture, finding a surround of its size might be a little tricky so if anybody knows of a decent seller of super sized frames in the UK I would be most grateful of a tip! As much as it has taken a very long time, this is one of my favourite stitches to date mainly because of the subject matter and although it has probably been very boring for you all listening to me yabber on about each monarch, I have really enjoyed doing the ‘real game of thrones’ updates. So breathe a sigh of relief, you won’t be hearing about any of these random monarch’s wrongdoings for a while now, but I am yet to decide on my next project so you never know, there is likely to be something else to bore you all with! 😉

images

So from one favourite to another, the summer journal prompt is of a similar theme: “Do you have a favourite colour? Paint it on your page and write about it”

I love everything brightly coloured, but of course my most favourite is yellow. It’s the most happy of the rainbow and you can’t help but grin at something that is the same colour as sunshine itself. I find it a little odd how in summer, the general consensus is to whip out the pretty things and bright colours but then hide them away when it comes round to winter. If I ever wear darker tones I instantly feel less happy than when I’m in something chipper so I choose to have the most fun loving and cheery colours around me all year long to plant a smile on my face. Of course, the best argument for the case is who could not love something that depicts cheese, rubber ducks and lego? 😉

22 thoughts on “G.O.T: A yellow moment (summer journal/photo a day)

  1. Lego, of course! Yes! I agree … and cheese, but can I add daffodils and sunflowers to the list of all things yellow, oh, and the Yellow Brick Road? I’ve really enjoyed seeing all your monarchs; what size frame are you after? My daughter’s just mail ordered loads of large ones for her exhibition in September and you might find the website useful..

    • I love sunflowers so much that I thought it would be boring me saying it so Im glad you have, of course how could I have missed out the yellow brick road? My great grandma was called Dorothy as well, although she had no sparkly red shoes as far as I’m aware! Oh that would be great if I could see the website. I need to measure it, but it’s the biggest one yet! 🙂

      • Funny you should say that because my grandmother was also called Dorothy and my parents once had a cat called Dotty, which was my grandmother’s shortened name! I’ll let you know about the website when my daughter’s back from holiday 🙂

      • that’s strange isn’t it? My gran’s nickname was Doll or Polly, although we called her Grandma Gran as a way of distinguishing between our two grandma’s. Thanks for the heads up about the website, be much appreciated 🙂

  2. It looks fantastic now it’s completely finished ! You must have the patience of a saint for all that backstitching though 🙂 Can’t wait to see it in a frame

    • Thank you, I am very anxious about the framing, it’s so big I think I may struggle finding one! I totally agree with you though, doing all that backstitching paid off now it’s all finished 🙂

  3. I love your cross stitching and I’ve enjoyed your updates all the way through too 🙂 I hated history at school. Why didn’t they teach it like you? That would have held my interest! As for yellow….it has to be the custard on top of the apple tart for me YUM!! Oh dear, I just asked my OH what the colour yellow reminded him of and he said “jaundice” LOL.

    • Haha, what a brilliant answer!! Really made me giggle! Ooo custard, yum yum! Im afraid I wasn’t taught history very enthusiastically at school, I just read a lot of factual books, love visiting historical sites and watch documentaries while I stitch 🙂

  4. Beautiful piece and the history lessons were quite fun too. How can history be boring? It’s real life and gives us a peek at how we got where we are today. Looking forward to seeing what you do next.

  5. 3 months is hardly a long time for cross stitching items!(yes, I did just look through your old posts to find out that the first post of this was on the 19th April :P) Well done for finishing it, anyway!

  6. I LOVE YOUR FINISHED.. Yipeee… is superb looking.. OMG.. finally every character has came alive.. LOVE IT…
    favourite Summer colours… emmmm… difficult choice.. I love yellow.. orange too.. (but usually associated with autumn) LOL.. okie.. i have to say.. anything bright catches my eyes too. 😉

    • hehe we sound like moths! shiny… It’s very true though and summer just has to explode with bright colours! My mum adores anything orange and one of our friends too, so definitely a great colour choice 🙂

  7. It looks great! I love it! I cant wait to see in frame as well. Maybe you could find some way to do your own frame?;) I like the idea to describe favorite color on our sides I will. Beautiful yellow is on fish and coral reef…

  8. we need lots of massive pictures to be able to do “oooohs” and “aaaahhhhs” properly …. your piece looks fabulous hope you take it to the framers and find appropriate centre-stage place at home to display it! xxx

Leave a Reply

