You learn when you lose (summer journal/photo a day)

20140729_145606[1]20140729_145641[1]

I discovered today that I need to pay more attention to my surroundings, certainly as they can help me out with photo a day challenges such as today’s ‘lost’ hint. I have passed this stone Chesterfield style sofa and chair (that looks like it has been severely misplaced), so many times and never really looked at it properly. Turns out it is actually a tribute to local Rugby poets and authors and is also one of a few sofas that come in different styles scattered around the town. Our area’s most famous literary brains are the world war one poet, Rupert Brooke and also Lewis Carroll who studied at Rugby School, but the set of stone books in the second photo however, are in tribute to Philip Toynbee, who was a writer/journalist and I must admit one I had never really heard of. Seeing this has certainly spurred my interest in finding more out about him though 🙂

index

Today’s summer journal prompt is: “What was the most difficult thing you have ever learnt to do?”

There are way too many potential answers for this question so aside from obviously very sentimental or personal things like ‘accept that life isn’t fair’, I have chosen three things that I would consider more to be a skill. I will go through them chronologically, so I’m starting with the skill both oldest and challenging…

  • Pattern cutting: At college, I totally loathed this module. I found it so hard to get my head around transferring what a garment on a mannequin looked like onto spot/cross paper and I am certainly not the mathematical mind more favoured in this field. It was very much a just keep on at it situation though because it counted greatly in the points needed to pass and I was not allowed to make the outfits I had designed before becoming at least vaguely competent.
  • Tattooing: I had no idea just how difficult it was to do until I picked up the machine myself. Being naive, I thought as long as I could draw I would be ok and how wrong I was! There are a fair few factors that at the time seemed surprising which seem to be totally logical now I can do it. Most of the machines are actually very heavy, different skin types/tones mean different reactions to the needles and ink pigments, the pressure of only getting one chance at creating a permanent piece of art is immense and most of all, due to the obvious pain involved, an irritated moving canvas’s flinching is not the easiest thing to predict. I would say that aside from obviously the need to be able to draw, developing an instinct in preempting when some poor sod may wince, vomit or pass out is something essential to the job and also incredibly difficult.
  • Coping with a broken body part: Or more to the point, understanding my insulin pump, which is a fairly recent thing in my learning history. It has taken a while to fully get to grips with the technicalities of it, like interpreting what the various alarms/codes mean that can go off when it has a tantrum, adjusting the hourly insulin intake based on calculating to the decimal pointed millimol what I need (that can be effected by anything from the climate to stress levels) and establishing what carbohydrates are in foods which can be a total nightmare. Of all the difficult things Ive got my head around though, this certainly is of course the most important and worthwhile. It paid off massively though because I have learnt to love my little robot pancreas and we now get along swimmingly.

I am hoping that my current learning adventure won’t make it to the next list of hardest lessons and I will be knitting a beard hat in no time 🙂

 

10 thoughts on “You learn when you lose (summer journal/photo a day)

  1. I suddenly have the urge to invite you down to tattoo me… No3 NEEDS to happen! Haha! The sofa thing is pretty cool! I’m learning a lot again, you keep doing that to me! 😀

  2. Wow, that sofa is amazing! And as someone who has a large tattoo on my foot, I can only imagine how hard it was for my tattoo artist to tattoo me .. simply because I was definitely flinching in some spots! I’m not mathematically minded either, so I can feel your pain 🙂

    • Im glad you share a mind Newton would cringe at! It is initially difficult to tattoo moving bodies and takes a lot of practice to realise when people are going to flinch but after a while you get used to it. Plus, I never once got annoyed with a customer about it, knowing how much it hurts! Im not surprised you flinched at your foot being done, it really is painful there, mine hurt a lot too 🙂

Leave a Reply

