Pulling the shutters down

henry_5[1]It’s the end of the month which means it’s the end of the August photo a day challenge and I have two days to catch up on. I have decided not to partake in the September one, mainly so I can concentrate on blogging about the crafts I have been up to but also to stop boring people to death with my less than rubbish snaps. Depending on the prompts, I may do the October one if I miss it though so never say never. Anyway, today’s hint is ’10am’, so naturally, being as it’s a weekend, any sewing enthusiast would relish the time to pursue their current stitching project. So this is what I was getting up to at 10am this morning and have only stopped for my tea and toast dinner break πŸ™‚

ribbon_loom_herbert[1]Yesterday’s hint was ‘nearby’ so I thought I’d share this gem. Last week we went to The Herbert Art Gallery and Museum which is very close (a 15 minute train ride) from our home. It was a lot bigger than we expected and was such a lovely place to visit. On arriving, you are greeted by this giant (and still functional) ribbon weaver which after watching an attached video of it working, is a marvelously effecientΒ  and incredible piece of machinery. We found lots of other craft related treats that I will probably go into at a later date.

imagesThe summer journal has also reached it’s last day today, which is a shame because out of the two topics, I have really enjoyed answering the questions. It has given me a chance to learn more about other bloggers and vice versa and certainly started some great conversations so thank you to everyone who has provided such lovely chatting for the past few weeks and of course to Fanwy, who very kindly provided such interesting prompts for us to yabber on about.

Β 

Yesterday’s was: “If nothing ever changed there would be no butterflies”

There was no question with this but I presume it meant to ask opinions on change. I think change is good, but I like to know about it to prepare myself beforehand. I like to feel secure and that I know where I am, so usually I favour a not too changeable lifestyle. On the other hand though, I still love adventure and excitement so change is obviously good, just in a refined way hehe.

Β 

” “Vanity and pride are different things, though the words are often used synonymously. A person may be proud without being vain. Pride relates more to our opinion of ourselves; vanity , to what we would have others think of us” – Jane Austen. Would you agree?”

I completely agree. I don’t class the two words with the same meaning, although sometimes they do work simultaneously depending on the context. I am not vain at all, I actually hate looking at myself and shy away from any photo’s where I am not goofing around and have to be serious. But I have a huge amount of pride in myself, as in I would be too proud to go out without being clean, smelling nicely and wearing suitable attire. That isn’t because I want to show off, but because I have been raised that you have to take pride in your appearance and basically not go out of the house ‘like a tramp’ as we used to get told if our teeth weren’t brushed. And rightly so, too. I certainly don’t dress up like I’m going to a ball when I leave the house and never feel I look nice, but being clean and not looking like I’ve just rolled out of bed makes me feel comfortable and with a little bit more pride in myself. If I ever leave the house with greasy hair or with dirty clothes on I just feel paranoid and even more ugly than normal, which isn’t fun. That’s not to say I am proud of my appearance, far from it, I would love to change nearly all of the way I look, but just that I have too much pride to appear unwashed or grubby and not to at least try and polish a turd πŸ˜‰

Β 

Β 

6 thoughts on “Pulling the shutters down

  1. I will be stealing C Darwin’s quote for work! πŸ™‚ …. …. ….. on the cleanliness topic – they say not washing is “traditional” when you go to festivals – for now I may be too proud to go down the “festival tramp” route – though … if I ever succumb to it – it might be for “scientific” reasons to check how adaptable to change I am … πŸ˜‰

    I enjoyed your August updates and I am sure I will enjoy September crafting posts! πŸ™‚

    • I must say I am not a festival type of person, I like the comfort of my own bed way too much and of course I’m totally with you on the lack of cleanliness at festivals front also! If you ever decide to perform the experiment, let me know what scientific finds you discover πŸ˜‰
      I’m also very glad you enjoyed the updates makes it seem more worthwhile now πŸ™‚

  2. WOW.. Henry Tudor stitching looks magnificent…. I’m guessing this is Henry the VIII and the lady beside him be?? Jane or Ann?? LOL.. okie. really making a wild guess here.. .

Leave a comment