Holding the cards

20140908_124037[1] 20140908_124051[1]I was sorting out where to put my OH’s birthday cards and realised that I hadn’t shared the one I made for him. It is probably a welcome change from a Henry update so I thought I would pop it on here today instead. I actually had a lot of problems with this one. None with the stitching, that went along fine and I really enjoy creating that part, even with the metallic thread. When I came to mounting it onto card, I thought I would do something different and tried to cut out a circle using a craft knife to frame the aida. I have never used a craft knife for this purpose before and regretted it as soon as I began. It was awful, I couldn’t get a grip between applying the right amount of pressure to make the cut and keeping it spherical. What I ended up with, after keeping on trying to make a circle and actually just creating a larger and larger hole, was a complete mess. In the end, I had to admit defeat and just attach the aida with a lace frame around it, covering up the inner catastrophe with card inserts of a contrasting colour. You can still see the would be sphere in the corner but my OH just found it funny and appreciated it wasn’t the easiest craft knife to use with my hobbit like little hands. Glad he was so understanding, my eyes were not so kind, so it has now been put in a drawer underneath the rest of his cards 🙂

4 thoughts on “Holding the cards

Leave a Reply

